City Calm Down announce national tour, starting this October + new single out NOW

Presented by Converge Management, Collective Artists, & I OH YOU

I OH YOU is thrilled to announce that Melbourne’s City Calm Down will hit the road this Spring, bringing their Television Tour to Sydney, Adelaide, Brisbane, Perth and Melbourne in October 2019.

Formed in 2008, City Calm Down are Jack Bourke (vocals), Sam Mullaly (keys), Jeremy Sonnenberg (bass), and Lee Armstrong (drums). Television is the follow-up 2018’s Echoes In Blue and 2015’s In A Restless House.

Following on from a late Sept/early Oct tour of the UK and Europe, these dates will celebrate the release of the band’s hotly anticipated third album, Television – released Friday 23 August via I OH YOU.

City Calm Down’s intimate preview gigs back in May saw them perform two sold-out nights at Melbourne’s Howler and a sold-out Oxford Arts Factory in Sydney, where fans got the first taste of their upcoming – and decidedly ambitious – third record. Television sees the band get out of their comfort zone and present us with something faster, simpler and tougher. This is City Calm Down like you’ve never heard before.

In further news today, City Calm Down also reveal the third song off their new album: Flight was recorded with producer Burke Reid (Courtney Barnett, DZ Deathrays, Julia Jacklin) at The Grove Studios in NSW.

Remembers singer Jack Bourke of the track: “Flight taps into themes I’ve explored on previous City Calm Down records—social media consumption and developing an opinion in an echo chamber—but it’s more scathing and cynical. The middle of this song was really difficult to execute. We were still working on it while we were in the final stages of mixing the new record, and starting to feel like we weren’t going to make it. But when Burke [Reid, producer] came down with a brutal bout of the flu. We all felt very bad for poor old Burke, but it did allow us an extra couple of days to finish it off.”

Joining CCD on the road is:


Exhibitionist is multi-instrumentalist Kirsty Tickle, whose sultry electronic pop draws on delicate vocals, taut, skeletal drums and swelling synths. Also playing is Brightness, aka Alex Knight, an indie-pop producer from Lake Macquarie, NSW.


Paradise Club brush against the washed-out haze of dream pop’s golden age throughout the ‘80s, whilst leaving sonic hints of their youth. Blush Response, with songwriter Alister Douglas, have an ear for dreamy pop melodies and a burning desire to tear them apart.


Unabashed dorks Sweater Curse have captivated the local scene with their charm and evocative, jangly melodies. Opener Sycco is Sasha McLeod, whose material delivers a psych jazz sound.


Elli Schoen is a Fremantle pop artist who won Unearthed for Falls in 2018 and has supported Gang of Youths, Tash Sultana, Ben Folds, Julien Baker and Ocean Alley. Opener Flossy are a four-piece grunge pop/rock band fronted by sisters Sinead and Lauren O’Hara.


Catch opener Murmurmur, whose urgent soundscapes sound like a time and place you’re not aware of but desperate to find.


Friday 11 October, 2019 - Manning Bar, Sydney R18
with special guests Exhibitionist & Brightness
Saturday 12 October, 2019 - Lion Arts Centre, Adelaide R18
with special guests Paradise Club & Blush Response
Friday 18 October, 2019 - The Triffid, Brisbane R18
with special guests Sweater Curse & Sycco
Saturday 19 October, 2019 - Rosemount, Perth R18
with special guests Flossy
Saturday 26 October, 2019 - Croxton, Melbourne R18
with special guests Murmurmur

Tickets for October’s Television Album Tour go on sale 9am (AEST) @ Friday 12 July