Phosphorescent to release new album 'C'est La Vie'

Phosphorescent’s Matthew Houck has announced his new album C’est La Vie, to be released October 5th. Houck’s first new Phosphorescent release in five years chronicles a life-altering period which saw him fall in love, start a family, leave New York for Nashville, and build a studio from the ground up.  With a focus on translating these profound experiences to music as intuitively as he could, Houck pushes the boundaries of what a Phosphorescent record can sound like, balancing the earthy and the incandescent, the troubled and the serene, creating his own musical cosmos in the process.

Nowhere is this more evident than on the new song 'New Birth In New England’ from C’est La Vie, a deceptively breezy snapshot survey of some of those life-altering events, condensed to five genre-defying minutes.  

C’est La Vie was produced by Houck and recorded at his Spirit Sounds Studio in Nashville, newly built specifically with these sessions in mind. The album was mixed by Matthew and Vance Powell (Jack White, Chris Stapleton, Arctic Monkeys). 

C’est La Vie  follows the 2013 Phosphorescent album Muchacho, Houck’s best-reviewed and best-selling album to date featuring the undeniable standout track ‘Song For Zula.’  Hailed by Pitchfork for its "beauty and profundity" and Consequence of Sound for "striking gold at every turn," Muchacho saw Houck top multiple year-end lists, perform on Jimmy Fallon, tour extensively as a headliner and also alongside the likes of Father John Misty and The National, play Glastonbury, Bonnaroo and Lollapalooza - and record 2015's three-LP, career-spanning 'Live At The Music Hall' set in Brooklyn.


1. Black Moon / Silver Waves
2. C’est La Vie No. 2
3. New Birth in New England
4. There From Here
5. Around The Horn
6. Christmas Down Under
7. My Beautiful Boy
8. These Rocks
9. Black Waves / Silver Moon