Top 20 songs for the 2018 APRA Silver Scroll announced


The top 20 songs in the running for the 2018 APRA Silver Scroll Award have been revealed - congratulations to all the songwriters!

The 20 songs from the 230+ entries are listed below - 

A Woman’s Pain, written and performed by Tami Neilson

Alright, written by Sam de Jong and Cynthia Nabozny, performed by Cyn

Aztechknowledgey, written and performed by Troy Kingi

Black Crow, written by Louis Baker and Steve Rusch, performed by Louis Baker

Conquer, written by Isaiah Libeau, Daniel Latu, and Amon McGoram, performed by SWIDT

December, written by Joshua Burgess, Charles Ryder, Christie Simpson, and Samuel Perry, performed by Yumi Zouma

Future Me Hates Me, written by Elizabeth Stokes, performed by The Beths

Hours, written by Julien Dyne , Brandon Haru , and Karoline Tamati, performed by Julien Dyne featuring Ladi6

Hunnybee, written by Ruban Nielson, Kody Nielson, and Jacob Portrait, performed by Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Kalega, written by Rob Ruha and Taina Keelan, performed by Rob Ruha & The Witch Dr

Laugh It Off, written by Chelsea Jade Metcalf and Bradley Hale performed by Chelsea Jade

New Wave, written and performed by Seth Haapu

Nobody Gets What They Want Anymore, written and performed by Marlon Williams

Nothing To Regret, written by Anna Robinson, Allison Crystal, and Larzz Principato, performed by Robinson

Slow Train Creek, written and performed by Holly Arrowsmith

Temporary Me, written by Kingdon Chapple-Wilson, performed by Kings

Two Free Hands, written and performed by Anthonie Tonnon

Wallace Line, written by Michael Cathro, performed by Ha The Unclear

We Light Fire, written and performed by Julia Deans

You Got Me, written and performed by Lisa Crawley

You can listen to them all on Spotify here, thanks to NZ On Air:

This Top 20 list was chosen from over 200 entries by a judging panel of 9 fellow songwriters, who have each made wonderful contributions to the NZ music community themselves.

The jury for 2018 was: Anji Sami (She’s So Rad/Sami Sisters), Anna Coddington, Cherie Mathieson (Sola Rosa), Jane de Jong (Ruby Frost), Hollie Fullbrook (Tiny Ruins), Nadia Reid, Phil Bell (DJ Sir-vere), Rodney Fisher (Goodshirt), and Simon Gooding (The Map Room).

Widely considered the most prestigious accolade in New Zealand music, the APRA Silver Scroll Award recognises outstanding achievement in the craft of songwriting, and the responsibility now falls to APRA’s almost 10,000 New Zealand members to choose the best song of 2018.