The last hurrah of the Comedy Fest! The Season Finale


The last hurrah of the Comedy Fest! The Season Finale! The bit at the end where the awards are decided, everybody relaxes and much fun is had. It’s the titled Last Laughs on Sunday 20 May at SkyCity Theatre.

Join host Ben Hurley (7 Days) amongst a crowd of comedians and comedy fans to see which talented kiwi comics take out the most coveted prizes in New Zealand comedy; the Billy T andFred Award. Finalists for the FRED Award will be announced on Twitter this Saturday before they perform at the show on Sunday.  

Come along and enjoy seeing the awards finalists perform, along with international guest Lloyd Langford (Wales) and the winner of 2018 RAW Comedy Quest 2018.

Make sure you also get along to Billy T Award nominees solo shows this week with perfromances from; Alice Snedden, James Malcolm, Donna Brookbanks, Melanie Bracewell, Lauren Daniel & Joseph Moore in Two Hearts.

The Billy T Award celebrates the growth of fresh talent in the New Zealand comedy industry. It is awarded to an outstanding emerging performer with a passion and commitment to their comedy career. The list of previous winners are impressive and include Jermaine Clement & Taika Waititi (Humourbeasts), Ewen Gilmour, Cal Wilson, Justine Smith, Tape Face, Dai Henwood, Ben Hurley, Rose Matafeo, Angella Dravid and Guy Williams.

The Fred Award finalists will also be on hand to display their comedic chops. The Fred Award recognises the best New Zealand show in the NZ International Comedy Festival each year and has previously been claimed by the likes of Rose Matafeo, Rhys Darby, Jan Maree, Wilson Dixon, Rhys Mathewson, Trygve Wakenshaw, and Last Laughs host Ben Hurley.

There will be jokes! There will be laughs! Awards will be given. Drinks will be drunk. Celebrations will be celebrated. People have been known to have a bloody good time.


Sunday 20 May, 7pm at SkyCity Theatre, Auckland