Young Fathers announce new album 'Cocoa Sugar'


In November 2017, Young Fathers announced that they’d completed work on a new album. The trio – Alloysious Massaquoi, Graham ‘G’ Hastings and Kayus Bankole – marked the news by previewing a brand new song, ‘Lord’ and a subsequent accompanying video. Just like their previous standalone 2017 single ‘Only God Knows’ (written for the Trainspotting T2 film and described by director Danny Boyle as “the heartbeat of the film”), ‘Lord’ provided an enticing glimpse of what to expect from Young Fathers’ third full album; something typically unique and exhilarating, but leaner, more muscular and self-assured than ever before.  

Now Young Fathers have announced full details of that album. Titled Cocoa Sugar, the twelve track album will be released on 9th March 2018 via Ninja Tune and follows the group’s previous two albums; 2014’s Mercury Prize-winning DEAD and 2015’s White Men Are Black Men Too. Written and recorded throughout 2017 in the band’s basement studio and HQ, Cocoa Sugar sees Young Fathers operating with a newfound clarity and direction, and is without doubt their most confident and complete statement to date.

To celebrate news of the new album, Young Fathers today reveal a brand new single ‘In My View’, accompanied by a video directed by Jack Whiteley,

Cocoa Sugar will be available on CD, LP, limited LP and via all digital services. It features a striking visual aesthetic, with cover photography from Julia Noni and creative direction from Tom Hingston.

Meanwhile, Young Fathers will perform a run of UK and EU dates throughout March and April 2018, including their biggest headline show to date at London’s 3000 capacity Roundhouse venue on 21st March, Tickets for all the dates are on sale now, with full details available via The band are also due to perform as part of the forthcoming Video Jam X Basquiat event at The Barbican Centre, London on 28th January. Full event details can be found HERE.

Cocoa Sugar Tracklisting

01. See How

02. Fee Fi

03. In My View

04. Turn

05. Lord

06. Tremolo

07. Wow

08. Border Girl

09. Holy Ghost

10. Wire

11. Toy

12. Picking You