Minimal Silence wins Smoke-Free Rockquest

Minimal Silence from Howick College has won this year’s Smoke-free Rockquest. This was their third year competing in the New Zealand national school competition, making the finals last year. Wining out over 750 other entries the band was elated to receive their award.

Photo by Andra Jenkin

Photo by Andra Jenkin

Logan Anderson, the band’s bass player and vocalist said it was ‘Fucking awesome” when asked how he felt about the long sought-after win. Sebastian Munro on lead guitar said it ‘feels ciabatta’ referring to the band’s favourite after practice food, while Mark Tohovaka was busy being congratulated. During their performance, they were a clear favourite with the crowd, with one punter saying, “These guys have a really good chance,” the rest of the audience were too busy screaming and moshing.

The band will receive $10,000 worth of equipment from The Rockshop and $8000 from NZ on Air to record and make a music video. A year’s worth of mentoring will help the band make the transition from polished school band to professional rock stars.

Photo supplied

Photo supplied

The Winner of the solo/duo category was Sonatane Kaufusi from Manuwera High School. He had the audience pumping with his rhythmic guitar driven beats. He got the crowd on their feet, and with them cheering him on it wasn’t hard to see why the judges chose him for the award.

When asked about his mentor Joe Farris (AKA Ezra Vine), Kaufusi said “He really helped me.” Sonatane will receive $3,000 worth of musical equipment from the Rockshop, plus money to Record and make a Music Video from NZ on Air 

In the band category, $5,000 Musical equipment from the Rockshop went to the second-place winners. The Daffodils from Western Springs College and Kristin School, also picked up The Lowdown Best Song Award, for Staring at the Sun which will have them able to professionally record the song.

The 3rd placed band winning $3,000 in musical equipment from Rockshop was the two-piece band O Boy! From Kaipara College consisting of Bianca Bailey on drums and vocals and Bryony Roberts on bass and vocals.

The 2nd placed solo-duo went to Sam Egli from New Plymouth Boys High, a singer/song writer who will get $1000 worth of music equipment from the RockShop.

Gideon Valavala won the Smokefree Best Vocals Award of $500. He is from Fuzhun the Shirley Boys High band from Christchurch.The National People’s Choice Award allowed Haze of St Kentigern College, Auckland to compete at the finals. They were a huge crowd pleaser. Although not present. The APRA Lyric Award of $500 went to Cheery Moon of Wakatipu High, Queenstown, and the MAINZ Scholarship award for musicianship, of a year’s tuition fees went to Arran Cargill-Brown from Havelock North High School, who played bass, guitar and keyboard.