Torres shares 'Three Futures' single and video ahead of album release

Torres is to release her third full-length album Three Futures on September 29, and today has unveiled the title track and accompanying video, which ties visually into the album’s artwork and the previously released ‘Skim’ video, shot and directed by Ashley Connor.

Torres is the creative alter-ego of Brooklyn-based Mackenzie Scott. In describing the album, Scott says it “is entirely about using the body that each of us has been given as a mechanism of joy.” The 10 original tracks on Three Futures embrace ecstasy, desire and indulgence rather than self-denial, and exude this idea via immersive music. Mechanised grooves are placed at the forefront, providing a framework for perforated electro-pop static, harsh gothic / industrial textures, and insistent Krautrock motifs.

For Three Futures, Scott reconnected with producer Rob Ellis (PJ Harvey), who worked on Torres’ last album Sprinter, to record in Stockport and Dorset, England. David Tolomei (Beach House, Future Islands) mixed the album.

Following Sprinter’s release in 2015, Torres gained critical acclaim from numerous influential publications, including Pitchfork, which named her single ‘Cowboy Guilt’ Best New Track, and the New York Times who wrote, “Her music can smolder while she considers exactly where she stands, and it can roar into feedback-edged howls when her rage or despair boil over.”

Three Futures

1. Tongue Slap Your Brains Out

2. Skim

3. Three Futures

4. Righteous Woman

5. Greener Stretch

6. Helen in the Woods

7. Bad Baby Pie

8. Marble Focus

9. Concrete Ganesha

10. To Be Given a Body