First Aid Kit to release new album 'Ruins'

First Aid KIt Album.jpg

Swedish duo First Aid Kit will release their forthcoming album Ruins on January 19. Produced by Tucker Martine (My Morning Jacket, Laura Veirs), the album was recorded in Portland, OR where the duo collaborated with amazing musicians — REM’s Peter Buck, Wilco’s Glenn Kotche, and Midlake’s McKenzie Smith. Ruins is available for pre-order now and includes lead single “It’s A Shame” as well as “Postcard,” which premiered via Rolling Stone Country. See full tracklisting below.

First Aid Kit says: “‘Postcard’ is one of the most traditional sounding songs we’ve ever written, and we wanted the production to mirror that. It’s not a resentful song, but more of a reaching out to a lover to wish them well on their journey in the midst of having to let them go.”

Ruins follows the band’s Columbia Records debut Stay Gold, a lush and ambitious 10-song collection that beautifully captures their vivid storytelling, landing First Aid Kit countless “Best of 2014” accolades. Earlier this spring, the duo also released a stand-alone single on International Women’s Day entitled "You Are The Problem Here."  It is an empowered, passionate, and angry song that confronts the rape culture epidemic, with a portion of proceeds donated to Women for Women International.


1.       Rebel Heart

2.       It's a Shame

3.       Fireworks

4.       Postcard

5.       To Live a Life 

6.       My Wild Sweet Love

7.       Distant Star

8.       Ruins

9.       Hem of Her Dress

10.   Nothing Has to Be True