The Veils share second single ‘Low Lays The Devil’

The Veils new single, ‘Low Lays The Devil’ has received its world premiere this week, getting its debut on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 show. Check out the song below. 

“It’s a song about The Evil One, Big King Below, Beelzebub, the fallen angel, Mephistopheles, Mr. Moonshine,” says lead singer Finn Andrews. “It's got a beat as big as a house and it's coming for you in your sleep.”
It’s the latest track taken from the band’s anticipated 5th album 'Total Depravity'. Produced by Adam 'Atom' Greenspan (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Arcade Fire, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Band Of Skulls) ‘Low Lays The Devil’ is an impressive return to form for the acclaimed 5-piece.
This is the second single to be released from the album, following the previous track, 'Axolotl' whose video was recently premiered by Pitchfork.
‘Total Depravity’ reunites the band with the aforementioned producer Adam 'Atom' Greenspan and also sees co-production from Run The Jewel’s El-P.  Andrews and El-P met up in various locations to collaborate together over a two-year period, with ‘Total Depravity’ recorded at Estúdios Sá da Bandeira in Portugal, Konk Studios in London, Casa Lynch in Los Angeles and El-P's studio in Upstate New York.
"Over a period of roughly 2 years an album began to take shape,” says Finn. “There is a large cast of characters on this record. L. Ron Hubbard, Axolotls of course, kind natured crocodiles, a psychotic truck driver, The Pope and Ingrid Bergman all get a look in. The songs are all stories of various kinds; some experienced firsthand, others fabricated for my own amusement. It's the first time I've ever written songs using mutilated loops and sounds as a starting point, though some of the songs also began on piano and were messed with later.”
Last month, Showtime shared the full cast to David Lynch’s reboot of his groundbreaking 1990 series Twin Peaks. Andrews is one of a handful of musicians set to appear in the upcoming revival; alongside other named artists like Eddie Vedder, Trent Reznor, Sharon Van Etten andSky Ferreira.

Total Depravity Tracklisting 

1. Axolotl
2. A Bit on the Side
3. Low Lays the Devil
4. King of Chrome
5. Swimming with the Crocodiles
6. Here Come the Dead
7. In the Blood
8. Iodine & Iron
9. House of Spirits
10. Do Your Bones Glow At Night?
11. In the Nightfall
12. Total Depravity