Silicon take out 2016 Taite Music Prize

The winner of the seventh annual Taite Music Prize 2016 is Silicon for the album ‘Personal Computer’ released on Weird World/Domino Recordings (Universal Music NZ).
Emma Smith, a member of the 2016 judging panel commented “It's a singular vision, beautifully executed, that speaks to now. And it's funny.”
Named after the late Dylan Taite, one of the country's most highly respected music journalists, this is the seventh year for the prestigious award. The Taite Music Prize's purpose is to recognise outstanding creativity for an entire collection of music contained on one album. Silicon wins a cash prize of $10,000, to be spent as they wish. The Taite Music Prize is organised by Independent Music New Zealand (IMNZ) and the Founding Partner Recorded Music NZ kindly supplies the cash prize. The winner will also receive free recording time at Red Bull Studios and a year’s supply of Red Bull product, alongside two magnums of MOA Beer.
The award winner was announced at an invitation-only event attended by around 300 people at Galatos Live in Auckland’s central city. IMNZ member The Leonard Charles Casiotone Orchestraperformed curated live sets for the gathered guests. The event was also live-streamed to the public thanks to 95bFM.
Also presented at the ceremony was the Independent Music NZ Classic Record, which aims to acknowledge New Zealand’s rich history of making fine albums that continue to inspire us and that also define who we are.
This year’s panel have given the nod to Upper Hutt Posse ‘E Tu’ (1988 Jayrem) as one of Aotearoa’s classic records. The award was presented by noted Tuhoe activist Tame Iti and was accepted by members of the band.
Previous Taite Prize winners are:
2010: Lawrence Arabia ‘Chant Darling’ (Honorary Bedouin Records)
2011: Ladi6 ‘The Liberation Of’ (What? Music)
2012: Unknown Mortal Orchestra ‘Unknown Mortal Orchestra’ (Seeing Records)
2013: SJD ‘Elastic Wasteland’ (Round Trip Mars)
2014: Lorde ‘Pure Heroine’ (Universal Music NZ)
2015: Jakob ‘Sines’ (Shoot The Freak)
Previous Independent Music NZ Classic Record winners are:
2013: Gordons ‘Gordons’ (Flying Nun Records)
2014: AK-79 various artists (Ripper Records)
2015: Herbs ‘What’s Be Happen’ (Warrior Records)