Ruban and Kody Nielson win 2015 Silver Scroll Award

Photo courtesy of Topic

Brothers Ruban Nielson and Kody Nielson have won the 2015 APRA Silver Scroll Award for the Unknown Mortal Orchestra song Multi-Love. Between the two of them, the gifted brothers have been finalists five times before, however this is the first time they have won the prestigious songwriting award. The award was presented at the 50th annual APRA Silver Scroll Awards at Vector Arena in Auckland by legendary songwriter and recently appointed Chair of the APRA Board, Jenny Morris.

"It's a mark of a great song that can feel both familiar and completely original at the same time" says APRA AMCOS' Anthony Healey. "Ruban and Kody have crafted a modern classic in Multi-Love that is grounded in tradition but pushing the envelope of what's possible."

As well as the Silver Scroll Award for 2015, the highly anticipated ‘Lost Scroll' of 1981 was also presented as a part of the 50th celebrations. The 1981 APRA Silver Scroll Award went to Phil Judd, Wayne Stevens andMark Hough for Counting the Beat. The New Zealand classic was performed on the night by Shayne Carterwith the support of an 18-piece orchestra.

The 2015 APRA Maioha Award was won by Stan Walker, Vince Harder and Troy Kingi for their anthem in te reo Māori Aotearoa. The soaring waiata was performed by Ngā Takere Nui o Ngā Waka - a twenty person kapa haka group - along with a marching band arranged by Mike Booth.

Ella Yelich O'Connor (Lorde) and Joel Little took out the Most Performed New Zealand Work Internationally for Royals, and Matiu WaltersMarlon Gerbes (Six60) and Priese Board won the Most Performed New Zealand Work in New Zealand for Special.

Chris Watson won the coveted SOUNZ Contemporary Award for his composition sing songs self, which was treated to an electro-acoustic cover by father and son duo Paul and Julien Dyne.

Prodigious songwriter, musician and composer Grayson Gilmour won the APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award with his score for Consent, and Tom McLeod won the APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award for the second year in a row for his work on Girl vs Boy (Season 3).

Alongside the award presentations, 92 year-old bandleader, composer and master of the slide-guitar Bill Sevesi was inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of FameMike Chunn paid tribute to Bill Sevesi, which was followed by a performance of Steel Guitar Haunt by John Segovia and Polytonix Quartet.

Established in 2007, The New Zealand Music Hall of Fame pays tribute to those that have made a significant contribution to New Zealand life and culture through music. Sevesi's induction makes him the 17th addition to the Hall of Fame, and sees him join household names including Dave Dobbyn, Shihad, Herbs and Dragon.

During the ceremony Jordan Luck also paid tribute to the late Graham Brazier, which was followed by an emotional rendition of Billy Bold by troubadour Delaney Davidson.

The winners of all awards were:

2015 APRA Silver Scroll Award - won by Ruban Nielson and Kody Nielson for Multi-Love (Mushroom Music).

1981 APRA Silver Scroll Award - won by Phil Judd, Wayne Stevens and Mark Hough for Counting the Beat(Mushroom Music).

APRA Maioha Award - won by Stan Walker*, Vince Harder and Troy Kingi for Aotearoa (*EMI Music Publishing Australia).

SOUNZ Contemporary Award - won by Chris Watson for sing songs self.

APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film - won by Grayson Gilmour for Consent.

APRA Best Original Music in a Series - won by Tom McLeod for Girl vs. Boy (Season 3).

Most Performed New Zealand Work Internationally - won by Ella Yelich-O'Connor* and Joel Little^ forRoyals. (*Native Tongue Music Publishing on behalf of SONGS Music Publishing LLC / ^EMI Music Publishing Australia)

Most Performed New Zealand Work in New Zealand - won by Marlon Gerbes, Matiu Walters and Priese Board* for Special (Kobalt Music Publishing Australia and *Native Tongue Music Publishing).

New Zealand Music Hall of Fame inductee - Bill Sevesi