Julia Jacklin reveals 2nd single 'Cold Caller'

Julia Jacklin.jpg

Julia Jacklin has revealed ‘Cold Caller’, the second single from her 7” entitled Eastwick/Cold Caller which has been released as both a limited release 7” vinyl and digitally.
 
Following, ‘Eastwick’, and premiering on Linda Marigliano’s Good Nights on triple j, ‘Cold Caller’ is a beautiful ode to Jacklin’s sister and completes the Eastwick/Cold Caller 7” – two exceptional a-sides that simply had to be released.  
 
Jacklin explains how ‘Cold Caller’ and the 7” came to be. “I started writing this song when my older sister told me she was pregnant. I know people get pregnant all the time but this was different, this was my sister. The one who explained tampons to me, told me what kissing felt like, convinced mum to let me shave my legs, sung ‘Boys of Summer’ acapella at the school talent quest.
 
“I went to New Zealand to record this 7inch and on the first day she went into labour, I was checking my phone every 10 mins but managed to write the second part of the song. That night I had all these crazy nightmares, where she kept disappearing into the dark and every time I caught up to her she’d slip out of my hands again. Woke up in an absolute state to the news that she had given birth to a healthy baby boy. I went into the studio and recorded this song. So this is for her, my wonderful sister Emma.”

The release of the Eastwick/Cold Caller 7” rounds out an absolute dream run for the singer songwriter who, following an arresting set at Splendour in the Grass in Australia and an incredible SOLD OUT show in New Zealand, will see the rest of 2017 continuing to circumnavigate the globe, on her final tour of the year, with huge headline shows across the UK, US and Canada before returning to Australia for Falls Festival.

Eastwick/Cold Caller is amazingly only the second release of a body of work from Jacklin, who’s debut Don’t Let The Kids Win featuring favourites ‘Pool Party’, ‘Leadlight’ and title track ‘Don’t Let The Kids Win’ went on to achieve stunning critical acclaim the world over and has seen the artist touring non-stop since its release.
 
Don’t Let The Kids Win saw Jacklin pick up a nomination for the 2016 J Award for Aus Album of the Year, win the Next Big Thing award at the 2016 FBi SMAC Awards and take out the Best Independent Blues and Roots Album at the 2017 AIR Awards.

JULIA JACKLIN

AUSTRALIAN TOUR DATES
For more info, click HERE

Thu 28 - Sun 31 Dec | Falls Festival, Lorne VIC
Fri 29 - Sun 31 Dec | Falls Festival, Marion Bay TAS
Sun 31 Dec - Tue 2 Jan | Falls Festival, Byron Bay NSW
Sat 6 - Sun 7 Jan | Falls Festival, Fremantle WA

INTERNATIONAL TOUR DATES
For more info, click HERE

Thu 2 Nov | Portsmouth, UK @ Wedgewood Rooms
Fri 3 Nov | Bristol, UK @ Thekla
Sat 4 Nov | Leeds, UK @ Belgrave Music Hall
Mon 6 Nov | Glasgow, UK @ Oran Mor
Tue 7 Nov | Manchester, UK @ Gorilla
Wed 8 Nov | Nottingham, UK @ Rescue Rooms
Thu 9 Nov | London, UK @ O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
Mon 13 Nov | Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
Wed 15 Nov | Toronto, ON @ The Drake
Fri 17 Nov | Chicago, IL @ Schubas
Sat 18 Nov | Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore
Sun 19 Nov | Portland, OR @ Doug Fir
Mon 20 Nov | San Francisco, CA @ Café Du Nord
Tues 21 Nov | Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo